PATA announces new Executive Board, Shahid Hamid from Bangladesh remains

_A Monitor Report16 Jul, 2019 | 524 Views|-+
Dhaka : The Pacific Asia Travel Association (PATA) has announced the ratification of the new PATA Executive Board for 2019-2020 in a press statement. Shahid Hamid, Executive Director, Dhaka Regency Hotel and Resort, Bangladesh remains in the new Executive Board.

Dr. Chris Bottrill, Dean of Fine and Applied Arts and Director, International, Capilano University in North Vancouver, Canada and Sarah Mathews, Head of Destination Marketing APAC, TripAdvisor, Hong Kong SAR have been formally approved to continue for an additional one-year term as Chairman and Immediate Past Chairperson respectively.

The new Executive Board members were confirmed at the PATA Board Meeting on May 12 during the PATA Annual Summit 2019 in Cebu, Philippines.

During the PATA Annual Summit 2019 in Cebu, Philippines, PATA also elected five new members to its Executive Board including Soon-Hwa Wong, CEO, Asia Tourism Consulting Pte. Ltd., Singapore; Benjamin Liao, Chairman, Forte Hotel Group, Chinese Taipei; Jennifer Chun, Director, Tourism Research, Hawaii Tourism Authority, USA; Vinoop Goel, Regional Director - Airports and External Relations, International Air Transportation Association (IATA), Singapore and Henry Oh Jr., Chairman, Global Tour Ltd, Korea (ROK).

Other Executive Board members include Shahid Hamid, Executive Director, Dhaka Regency Hotel and Resort, Bangladesh; Maria Helena de Senna Fernandes, Director, Macao Government Tourism Office, China; Bill Calderwood, Managing Director, The Ayre Group Consulting, Australia; Jon Nathan Denight, Representative, Palau Visitors Authority, Palau and Luzi Matzig, Chairman, Asian Trails Ltd, Thailand.

Soon-Hwa Wong has been elected as the new Vice Chairman while Maria Helena de Senna Fernandes remains Secretary/Treasurer.

Furthermore, Josefa Tuamoto, CEO, Tourism Solomons, Solomon Islands and Dr. Fanny Vong, President, Institute for Tourism Studies, China, have been appointed to the Executive Board as non-voting members.

Flori-Anne Dela Cruz, Youth Representative, Guam Visitors Bureau Board of Directors and PATA Face of the Future 2019, has joined the PATA Executive Board as a non-voting member and observer for a one-year term by the invitation of the PATA Chairman.

Also on Bangladesh Monitor